To Apply or not to apply

30 08 2008

I will summarize the post here, in case you do not wish to read my rant: So, in short, my question is, should a guild, striving for progression, yet having difficulty fielding our raids due to low attendance, be recruiting via Rigid application forms? or should it be done via trial runs?. Keep in mind trial run doesn’t mean a quick heroic run, it means one of our 25-man raids, or perhaps a Karazhan run.

~~~ Warning: Guild Drama Follows ~~~
(Actually I think I avoided typing about the drama but you be the judge of that)

I was calmly enjoying myself in Alterac Valley, not really bothering myself to care if we won or lost. Just toying around with Azrael’s doing some PvP as protection, reflecting a few Pyroblasts and Shield slamming faces to the ground. Well…alright, maybe not that much. Anyway, after a few minutes of me joining a battleground, our GM asks in Guild Chat if any officers have checked out our new applicant on the guild’s website.

After slamming some more skulls with Azrael’s shield – Ok, I was at the spirit healer – I went and checked out the Application, finding some issues I disliked about the applicant.

A bit of background information about the guild is needed first, I believe. Back when we started, we had a sudden rush of people joining us, and our application form was more a way to let us know someone wanted in the guild, than an actual application. After a few too many times of the guild’s core of raiders running people through Karazhan time after time, gearing the new recruits to a point where they could be of help on our 25-man raids, specifically, on SSC and The Eye, since our “core” was strong and consistent enough to carry a few undergeared people on Gruul, and even Magtheridon’s Lairs.

Now, gearing people was not a problem. Gearing them just to see them take off in the middle of the night like a cheap thief, that’s what my problem is. And I’ve seen too many of those join and leave The Tarnished Crown (TTC for short).

Therefore we got more strict with our recruitment policies, and developed a new application form, and finally managed to get our leaders understand we should be recruiting people with gear up to our needs. It all seemed to be ok, until….

Back to me reading the application form, there were two answers that bothered me, and led me to vote against recruiting the applicant. The questions being

How do you evaluate yourself at the end of a raid night?

and

Tell us a little about your class. What does it bring to a raid? What do you like about your current/desired talent build and why?

To the first question, his answer was “unsure“, sorry, but if you’re not able to evaluate yourself after a raid night, you can’t see your own mistakes, you can’t learn from them, and you can’t improve yourself. This goes both in behaviour/manners, and in performance.

His answer to the second question, also the last in a 12 question form, was the most unsettling of both…

lvl 70 human mage, arcane/frost, pots, elixirs, spell buff food, and seems to give my toon a punch.

That, my dear applicant, is a) not what I asked – sure, you’re a frost/arcane mage, that’s telling us a bit about your class, he brings consumables, and that “seems” to give his/her toon a punch. Sorry, read again please: It says what does IT (as in, the class) to a raid. b) it’s a half-baked answer just to get things over with. c) you can’t read clearly enough.

The question was made not to find out what consumables you use and what is your talent build. If I want to find out your spec, I’d look you up in the armory, and then ask you personally, for confirmation. I’ll admit it is good to know this applicant brings consumables to a raid, and it, of course, gives a “punch“. But that is not what we are asking.

I’ll stop here, I’m sure people can see what that question is for, and what a good answer would be. The problem came after that, when Meara explicitly stated she voted No, and when asked why, she stated her reason, the same reason I voted No. Apparently, that was not enough for our GM, so be it. I won’t go in-depth with the drama that followed, my intention is not to bore our scarce readers to death. However, after a very rushed officer meeting, due to me expressing my…disagreement with his methods, to say it politely, it was decided – forcefully, since I did not agree with it – that there will be no more applications, all our new recruits are to be tested in a raid and we shall decide upon their performance.

Their reasoning: We’re short in members as is, why should we close ourselves via our strict applications. If I understood correctly, they only seem to want warm bodies that don’t know how to answer simple questions, and I doubt they will know how to follow directions.

My reasoning: Quality over quantity, if you can’t fill in an application, you will not follow instructions, spouts will kill you, you won’t CC what needs to be CC’d, we will wipe, we will not progress. Harsh, but progression is a team effort, and the weakest link metaphor applies here.

So, in short, my question is, should a guild, striving for progression, yet having difficulty fielding our raids due to low attendance, be recruiting via Rigid application forms? or should it be done via trial runs?. Keep in mind trial run doesn’t mean a quick heroic run, it means one of our 25-man raids, or perhaps a Karazhan run.

To finish this post, I’ll say what can be expected from me: Rogues applying to the guild will have to fill in the form, and if I am not happy with the answers, that is a negative vote.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

